Baffled
Has anyone ever had a WS that openly says that they love you, is authentically caring when present, but is unable to move home?

This is my first time posting here.  I discovered this forum a few months ago, and am finally brave enough to seek some help and support.  My WS had an emotional affair, but a *strong* one back in 2013.  The affair started approximately in October, 2013.  I was clueless.  I actually had a lot of red flags, but I believed all his lies, as I had no reason not to.  He moved out of the house in November 2014.  I still was unaware of the emotional affair.  Because he had moved out, I was a mess, but I was committed.  We started marriage counseling right away.  We were in marriage counseling for two months, which obviously didn't work as he was still in the fog and still going strong in the affair, and I had my DDay as they call in January of 2015.  There is a bunch of mess in the middle, including the fog, a morning of re-contact with his AP, and finally absolutely establishing no contact with his AP since March of 2015.

That brings us to today.  He says that he is firmly committed.  I believe that he started working on our marriage after the affair due to obligation, in that it was the 'right' thing to do, but I believe that today he is really truly genuine about wanting our marriage to work.  The problem?  He's now been out of the house for over a year and a half.  I'm a mess.  Because of his work schedule in the medical field, I see him 2 or 3 times a week.  We do have almost nightly phone calls, but it's not the same as face time. I desperately want to be able to emotionally distance myself, so that I am not a mess all the time, but I feel like I am either completely distant, or I am completely emotionally invested.  I can't find a cool medium.