Debra
Hi,

I have been working with a couple for 9 months, with little progress.  The lack of progress has mainly been due to the betraying spouse's feeling she doesn't have to be  the primary healer of the relationship.  After nine months, she continues to justify the affair because of the disconnection of the marriage prior to the affair.

The betrayer believes she is punished since she has to take on the role of the healer. Also, she laments about the negative consequences of the affair and believes the consequences should be over.

Any advice or similar experiences?

Thanks
Quote 0 0
TimT
Debra wrote:
I have been working with a couple for 9 months, with little progress.  The lack of progress has mainly been due to the betraying spouse's feeling she doesn't have to be  the primary healer of the relationship.  After nine months, she continues to justify the affair because of the disconnection of the marriage prior to the affair.

The betrayer believes she is punished since she has to take on the role of the healer. Also, she laments about the negative consequences of the affair and believes the consequences should be over.

Any advice or similar experiences?

Hi, Debra. Sorry for the delayed response. (Just got back into town last night.)

One of two things have to happen in order for the relationship to start progressing. The preferred change would be for the unfaithful spouse to shift in her awareness of her responsibility for the affair by gaining more insight into her own "stuff" or by exploring a more empathetic response to her husband's betrayal. The other change would be for the betrayed spouse to sacrifice expectations, at least for a while, for his wife to make these shifts. Sometimes it takes time for that to happen, although the longer it takes, the more complicated recovery becomes.

My recommendation would be to combine joint sessions with at least 1 or 2 individual sessions to focus on those issues.