awaggoner1999 Show full post »
Kalmarjan
Totally agree. I am still learning every day.

Quote 0 0
Intuition77
Kalmarjan wrote:

Me too! And I think it doesn't help that each gender is inclined to see their method of thinking as wasn't it obvious?
Quote 0 0
Kalmarjan
Intuition77 wrote:
Kalmarjan wrote:

Me too! And I think it doesn't help that each gender is inclined to see their method of thinking as wasn't it obvious?

LOL. Yes. You know, way back in the day my wife actually said to me, "you should JUST know."

Then again, I'm not the easiest to guess in out relationship either.
Quote 1 0
TimT
Intuition77 wrote:
...I think true forgiveness for something so severe as an affair evolves over time. Much more time then most people think, I read many BS only weeks or a few months away declaring they've forgiven and I don't really know if that's a healthy forgiveness or a forced one? I couldn't imagine feeling forgiveness so early on, I just don't know how it could even come about...

I agree that the work of forgiveness is directly tied to the severity of the offense. And since most in this Community agree that the betrayal of an affair is about as bad as an offense can be, the work of forgiveness will be significant.

There is no magic formula: "Do these 3 things during the next 3 weeks and you will discover forgiveness!" No way. It really is a process that takes longer for some than for others. Nobody should be forced into it.

And the eventual choice to forgive doesn't mean the work of forgiveness is over. Every time the pain of a past offense is triggered, I feel the urge to reach back into the past and clobber the offender with accusation again. Forgiveness is the choice that allows me to be honest about the pain while refusing to pick up the weapon. (Or to quickly correct things if I falter.)