Valntine66

Info: I am the Wayward Husband. 

Married: 30+ years (Oct 27, 1985)

Five kids: Son-30yo, Dtr-27yo, Dtr-25yo, Dtr-24yo, Son-17yo 

I have contemplated writing on this topic my story over the last 2 to 3 months since I’ve been on this forum.  It’s not because I’m afraid of my story or what people may think, but as TimT stated, it’s a place for healing and the place for you to comment on what we post and to feel safe.

I also contemplated writing on this topic because I was a pastor.  Since D-day, February 11, 2016.  I have searched to the ends of the bookshelves for books, pamphlets, materials on the fallen pastor and have only found one, Fallen Pastor: Finding Restoration In A Broken World: by Ray Carroll.  It has helped me to understand the mind of the pastor who commits adultery while standing in the pulpit preaching against the very sin he committed.  It definitely is not a book giving license to the pastor to commit sin, excuse slip for his actions, nor the monopoly card to advance to go collect $200, but it is a book to help understand “The Why” and addressed the patterns of not only the pastor who is already committed, but also the pastor who is on the threshold of committing adultery.  Every pastor he interviewed fell into the same pattern:  1. High Expectations from church members, 2.  Isolation of the pastor, 3. Poor or a broken Relationship/marriage with the spouse, 4. Judgmental & Response to ministry failure.  It’s also a book for pastors to help other pastors in either counseling, encouragement, or simply another tool in their utility belt to help stand in the pulpit preaching a message of what the Bible says about adultery.